Alabama Sex Offender’s Law makes sure all sex offenders get registered in the state. Sex offenders register their current address, email and other relevant information. The local law enforcement agencies in Alabama receive this information. The state of Alabama adopted this law after the death of Megan Kanka in New Jersey.
Megan Kanka died in the hands of a convicted sex offender. Her death led to the “Megan’s Law” aimed at protecting the public from sex offenders. The law also limits the tendency of sentenced offenders to re-offend.
Alabama Sex Offenders Registry provides the public, information on sex offenders in the state.
The State’s sex offender’s Law stipulates that offenders submit their information to the local law enforcement agency at 3- months’ intervals.
The law also states that the offenders should notify the registry on change of place of employment or residency.
The Registry verifies this information before making them available for the public on the internet. This information protects the citizens of Alabama from sex offense and limits the chances of re-offending.
Alabama currently has over 14,000 registered sex offenders. The Registry updates this information from the local law enforcement.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Alabama sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Alabama Sexual Predator Infographic
Offenses for Which Registration are Required Under ALA. CODE § 13A-11-200:
ALA. CODE § 15-20-21 (West 2008)
(3) Community notification flyer. This notification shall include the following information on the criminal sex offender:
ALA. CODE § 15-20-25 (West 2008)
ALA. CODE § 15-20-26 (West 2008)
(a): Adult criminal sex offenders may not live or work within 2000 feet of a school or childcare facility.
(b): Sex offenders may not live where a minor resides unless the offender is the parent, grandparent or stepparent of the minor.
(c): Adult criminal sex offenders may not live with minor if:
(d): No adult criminal sex offender shall willfully or knowingly come within 100 feet of any of his or her former victims, except as elsewhere provided by law, or make any visual or audible sexually suggestive or obscene gesture, sound, or communication at or to a former victim or a member of the victim's immediate family.
(f): No child sex offender may loiter or work within 500 feet of a school, child care facility, playground, athletic field or facility for educating minors.
ALA. CODE § 15-20-33 (West 2008)
Within 30 days of release; 30 days of changing the address
Felony 1 to 5 years imprisonment and up to $1,000 fine
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.