Mississippi Sex Offenders Law states that sex offenders in the state must register their information. Registration occurs upon reentry into the society for convicted offenders. The state’s Department of Public Safety is in charge of this registration.
Sex offenders have 3 days to register their information upon release from jail/correction facility. Sex offenders on probation or parole must register immediately after their court sentence.
Sex offenders convicted in another state but have the intent to work, attend school, or move to Mississippi must register in the state. Offenders must notify the state’s Department of Public Safety 10 days before entering the state.
Sex offenders must also inform the Department of Public Safety of any changes to their registered information.
Duration of registration depends on the nature of sex crime. Offenders in Mississippi must re-register in person every 90 days. Offenders must also inform the state police if he intends to work with minors.
The law protects the residents of Mississippi from sex offenders. It aims at reducing recidivism amongst convicted sex offenders in the state.
Mississippi sex offender’s registry is in charge of the state’s sex offender database. The state’s Department of Public Safety is in charge of the registry. The Registry ensures that the information on sex offenders in the state is correct and up to date.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Mississippi sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Mississippi Sexual Predator Infographic
MISS. CODE ANN. § 45-33-25
(2) Any person required to register under this chapter shall submit the following information at the time of registration:
MISS. CODE ANN. § 45-33-49
(1) Records maintained under this chapter shall be open to law enforcement agencies which shall be authorized to release relevant and necessary information regarding sex offenders to the public.
(4) Upon written request, the department may also provide to any person the:
Additionally, the department may utilize an internet website or other electronic means to release the information.
MISS. CODE ANN. §§ 43-15-305 & 43-15-307 (2019)
A person required to register as a sex offender under Section 45-33-25 may not own or operate a child care service. Any person who is required to register as a sex offender under Section 45-33-25 who knowingly owns or operates a child care service is guilty of a felony, and upon conviction shall be imprisoned in the custody of the Department of Corrections for a period not to exceed five (5) years.
(a) A person required to register under this chapter shall not reside within three thousand (3,000) feet of the real property comprising a public or nonpublic elementary or secondary school, a child care facility, a residential child-caring agency, a children’s group care home or any playground, ballpark or other recreational facility utilized by persons under the age of eighteen (18) years.
However, certain circumstances such as the person established the residence before Jul 1, 2006. Will allow the offender to live within 1,500 feet of the above-mentioned facilities.
MISS. CODE ANN. § 45-33-25(4) (2019)
(b) Tier One. —
(i) Tier One requires registration for a minimum of fifteen (15) years in this state and includes any of the following listed registrable sex offenses:
(ii) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, an offender may petition the appropriate circuit court to be relieved of the duty to register upon fifteen (15) years’ satisfaction of the requirements of this section for the convictions classified as Tier One offenses.
(c) Tier Two. —
(i) Tier Two requires registration for a minimum of twenty-five (25) years in this state and includes any of the following listed registrable sex offenses:
(ii) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, an offender may petition the appropriate circuit court to be relieved of the duty to register upon twenty-five (25) years’ satisfaction of the requirements of this section for the convictions classified as Tier Two offenses.
(d) Tier Three. — Tier Three requires lifetime registration, the registrant not being eligible to be relieved of the duty to register except as otherwise provided in this section, and includes any of the following listed registrable sex offenses:
(i) Section 97-3-65 relating to rape;
(ii) Section 97-3-71 relating to rape and assault with intent to ravish;
(iii) Section 97-3-95 relating to sexual battery;
(iv) Subsection (1) or (2) of Section 97-5-33 relating to the exploitation of children;
(v) Section 97-5-5 relating to enticing a child for concealment, prostitution or marriage;
(vi) Section 97-5-41 relating to the carnal knowledge of a stepchild, adopted child or child of a cohabiting partner;
(vii) Section 97-3-53 relating to kidnapping if the victim is under the age of eighteen (18);
(viii) Section 97-3-54.1(1)(c) relating to procuring sexual servitude of a minor;
(ix) Section 97-3-54.3 relating to aiding, abetting or conspiring to violate antihuman trafficking provisions;
(x) Section 97-5-23 relating to the touching of a child, mentally defective or incapacitated person or physically helpless person for lustful purposes;
(xi) Section 43-47-18 relating to sexual abuse of a vulnerable person by health care employees or persons in a position of trust or authority;
(xii) Section 97-5-39(1)(c) relating to contributing to the neglect or delinquency of a child, felonious abuse and/or battery of a child, if the victim was sexually abused;
(xiii) Capital murder when one (1) of the above described offenses is the underlying crime;
(xiv) Any conviction for violation of a similar law of another jurisdiction or designation as a sexual predator in another jurisdiction;
(xv) Any conviction of conspiracy to commit, accessory to commission, or attempt to commit any offense listed in this tier; or
(xvi) Any conviction of a Tier Two offense if it is the offender’s second or subsequent conviction of a registrable sex offense.
Unless otherwise specified, a violation of this chapter shall be considered a felony and shall be punishable by a fine of not more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for not more than five (5) years, or both fine and imprisonment. MS Code § 45-33-33 (2019)
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.
Date Last Updated: 03/22