Arkansas Sex Offender’s Law protects the citizens of Arkansas from the dangers of sex offenders. The law stipulates that every sex offender in Arkansas either on probation or out of jail should register periodically, to a law enforcement agency in the state.
The law came after the death of Megan Kanka in New Jersey. Magan was raped and murdered by a re-offending sex offender. Her death caused much uproar that led to “Megan’s Law” in 1994. Megan’s Law protects the public from sex offenders and reduces the rate of re-offending.
The state of Arkansas adopted the “Megan’s Law” to protect its citizens. Hence, provide the public, information on sex offenders living in their community.
An offender registered in another state but who wants to live and work in Arkansas may have to register again in Arkansas.
Arkansas Sex offender law has four different levels. The levels rise from the likelihood of an offender to re-offend to a sexually violent predator.
The law stipulates that offenders in level 1, 2 and 3 register at their community sheriff’s office every 6 months. Offenders in level 4 must re-register every 120 days (3 months).
Offenders in level 3 and 4 cannot live within 2,000 feet of a daycare, school or public park. Offenders that were living in an area before the opening of a school, public park or daycare may not leave if anyone springs up around them.
Arkansas Sex Offender Registry displays information on sex offenders in Arkansas on the internet. The State Police may inform the public on sex offenders in level 3 and 4. But, Arkansas Sex Offender’s Registry provides general information on all the sex offenders in the state.
Information displayed by the registry on the internet is the current address and pictures of sex offenders.
Sex offenders are either registered for 15 years or a lifetime depending on the level of offense. Level 4 offenders register for a lifetime. While level 1 to 3 offenders register for 15 years after their release from jail, parole or other forms of supervision.
The state of Arkansas currently has over 12,000 sex offenders on their registry. You can check for offenders near you by using the registry’s website.
Rape - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-14-103 (West 2008).
Sexual indecency with a child - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-14-110 (West 2008).
Sexual assault (1st degree) - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-14-124 (West 2008).
Sexual assault (2nd degree) - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-14-125 (West 2008).
Sexual assault (3rd degree) - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-14-126 (West 2008).
Sexual assault (4th degree) - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-14-127 (West 2008).
Incest - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-26-202 (West 2008).
Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in visual or print medium - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-27-303 (West 2008).
Transportation of minors for prohibited sexual conduct - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-27-305 (West 2008).
Pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually explicit conduct involving a child - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-27-304 (West 2008).
Employing or consenting to use of a child in a sexual performance - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-27-402 (West 2008).
Producing, directing or promoting sexual performance - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-27-403 (West 2008).
Promoting prostitution (1st degree) - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-70-104 (West 2008).
Stalking when ordered by the court to register as a sex offender - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-71-229 (West 2008).
Indecent exposure, if a felony level offense - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-14-112 (West 2008).
Exposing another person to HIV when ordered by the court to register as a sex offender - ARK. CODEANN. § 5-14-123 (West 2008).
Kidnapping, when the victim is a minor and the offender is not the parent of the victim - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-11-102(a) (West 2008).
False imprisonment (1st and 2nd degree), when the victim is a minor and the offender is not the parent of the victim - ARK. CODE ANN. §§ 5-11-103, -104 (West 2008).
Permitting abuse of a child - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-27-221 (West 2008).
Computer child pornography - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-27-603 (West 2008).
Computer exploitation of a child - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-27-605 (West 2008).
Permanent detention or restraint when the offender is not the parent of the victim - ARK. CODE ANN. § 5-11-106 (West 2008).
Distributing, possessing or viewing matter depicting sexually explicit conduct involving a child - ARK.CODE ANN. § 5-27-602 (West 2008).
The attempt, solicitation or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses enumerated
A.C.A. § 12-12-908 (West 2008)
(b) The registration file required by this subchapter shall include:
The offender's full name and all aliases that the offender has used or under which the offender has been known;
Date of birth;
Hair and eye color;
Address of any temporary residence;
Anticipated address of legal residence;
Driver's license number or state identification number, if available;
Social security number;
Place of employment, education, or training;
Photograph, if not already obtained;
Fingerprints, if not already obtained;
Date of arrest, arresting agency, the offense for which convicted or acquitted, and arrest tracking number for each adjudication of guilt or acquittal on the grounds of mental disease or defect;
A brief description of the crime or crimes for which registration is required;
The registration status of the offender as a sexually violent predator, aggravated sex offender, or sex
A statement in writing signed by the offender acknowledging that the offender has been advised of the duty to register imposed by this subchapter; and
Any other information that the center deems necessary, including, but not limited to:
Criminal and corrections records;
No privileged personnel records;
Treatment and abuse registry records; and
Evidentiary genetic markers.
(c) Certain information such as social security number, driver's license number, employer, information that may lead to identification of the victim, and the like may be excluded from the information that is released during the course of notification.
Community Notification and Websites
A.C.A. § 12-12-913 (West 2008)
(b): In accordance with guidelines promulgated by the Sex Offenders Assessment Committee, local law enforcement agencies having jurisdiction shall disclose relevant and necessary information regarding sex offenders to the public when the disclosure of such information is necessary for public protection.
Limitations on Residency or Employment
A.C.A.§ 5-14-128 (West 2008)
Registered offender living near school, Public Park, youth center, or daycare prohibited
(a) It is unlawful for a sex offender who is required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act of 1997, §12-12-901 et seq., and who has been assessed as a Level 3 or Level 4 offender to reside within two thousand feet (2,000′) of the property on which any public or private elementary or secondary school, public park, youth center, or daycare facility is located.
(b)(1) It is not a violation of this section if the property on which the sex offender resides is owned and occupied by the sex offender and was purchased prior to the date on which the public or private elementary or secondary school, public park, youth center, or daycare facility was established.
A.C.A.§ 5-14-129 (West 2008)
Registered offender working with children prohibited
(a) It is unlawful for a sex offender, who is required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act of 1997, §12-12-901 et seq., and who has been assessed as a Level 3 or Level 4 offender to engage in an occupation or participate in a volunteer position that requires the sex offender to work or interact primarily and directly with a child under sixteen (16) years of age.
A.C.A.§ 5-14-131 (West 2008)
Registered offender living near victim or having contact with victim prohibited
(b) It is unlawful for a person who is required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act of 1997, § 12-12-901 et seq., and who has been assessed as a Level 3 or Level 4 offender to knowingly:
(1) Reside within two thousand feet (2,000′) of the residence of his or her victim;
(c)(1) It is an affirmative defense to a prosecution for a violation of subdivision (b)(1) of this section if the property where the sex offender resides is owned and occupied by the sex offender and was purchased prior to the date on which his or her victim began residing within two thousand feet (2,000′) of the residence of the sex offender.
A.C.A.§ 5-14-132 (West 2008)
Registered offender prohibited from entering upon school campus-
(b) It is unlawful for a sex offender who is required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act of 1997, §12-12-901 et seq., and who has been assessed as a Level 3 or Level 4 offender to knowingly enter upon the campus of a public school.
(c) It is not a violation of this section if the sex offender:
(1) is a minor and is a student;
(2) Enters upon the campus for the purpose of attending a school-sponsored event for which an admission fee is charged or tickets are sold or distributed, a graduation ceremony, or a baccalaureate ceremony;
(3) Enters upon the campus on a day that is not designated a student contact day by the school district's calendar or on a day in which no school-sponsored event is taking place upon the campus; or
(4) Is the parent or guardian of a student enrolled in a public school district and enters upon the campus where the student is enrolled for the purpose of:
(A) Delivering to the student medicine, food, or personal items, provided that the items are delivered directly to the school office; or
(B) Attending a scheduled parent-teacher conference provided the sex offender is escorted to and from the conference by a designated school official or employee.
(d)(1) A sex offender who is the parent or guardian of a child enrolled in a public school district and wishes to enter upon the campus in which the student is enrolled for any other purpose must give reasonable notice to the school principal or his or her designee.
A.C.A. § 12-12-919 (West 2008)
(a): Lifetime registration is required for a sex offender:
offenders convicted of an aggravated offense
sexually violent predators, or
Offenders adjudicated guilty of a second or subsequent offense under a separate case number, not multiple counts of the same charge.
(b)(1)(A)(i) Any other sex offender required to register under this subchapter may make application for an order terminating the obligation to register to the sentencing court fifteen (15) years after release from incarceration or other institution or fifteen (15) years after having been placed on probation or any other form of community supervision by the court.
(ii) A sex offender sentenced in another state but permanently residing in Arkansas may make an application for an order terminating the obligation to register to the court of the county in which the sex offender resides.
(B)(i) The court shall hold a hearing on the application at which the applicant and any interested persons may present witnesses and other evidence.
(ii) No fewer than twenty (20) days prior to the date of the hearing on the application, a copy of the application for termination of the obligation to register shall be served on the prosecutor of the county in which the adjudication of guilt triggering registration was obtained.
Within 30 days of entering any county; 10 days of changing Address
Class A misdemeanor up to 1 year in jail and up to $1,000 fine
Most people think sexual predators are scary-looking and creepy. But three out of four adolescents who were sexually assaulted were victimized by someone they knew well.
Most of the time, sexual predators look like regular people. Children and parents need to know and to understand that anyone can be a sexual predator, no matter how "normal" they appear.
It isn't always easy to build a trusting relationship with your child. Trying to get your children to share what is going on in their lives can be difficult.
Building an open and welcoming environment from the beginning stages of a child's life is essential. Children are less intimidated and more likely to discuss issues and topics in their lives with an open and supportive environment.
Getting your kids to share serves as a building block for times when your child needs to discuss pressing issues like sex and sexual abuse.
KidsLiveSafe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe. This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.