Oklahoma’s sex offenders law took effect on November 1, 1989. The law protects residents of Oklahoma by making sure that convicted sex offenders have no chance at reoffending.
Sex offenders in Oklahoma are not allowed to live near child care facilities like schools and daycares. They cannot have professional licenses, careers, or jobs that would endanger residents of the state.
Oklahoma sex offender’s law classifies sex offenders into three risk levels:
The classification depends on the gravity of the offense committed. The law classifies 12 sex crimes under Level 3 offenses, three (3) sex crimes under Level 2 offenses and seven (7) sex crimes under Level 1 offenses.
Duration and requirements of registration vary with the different risk levels:
Sex offenders visiting or leaving the state must notify the law enforcement authorities on their plans. Level 3 sex offenders planning to travel may wear a GPS ankle monitor.
Sex offenders in Oklahoma are not allowed 2000 feet near a child care facility or school. Sex offenders with crimes against minors are not allowed to come within 500 feet near schools, parks, daycare or playgrounds.
A sex offender in Oklahoma is not allowed to live with another sex offender. A sex offender with crimes against a minor is not allowed to live with children unless the children are his or her own and were not involved in the crime.
Oklahoma Sex Offender registry manages information on sex offenders living in the state. The registry updates this information in real time. This ensures that residents of the state have access to accurate details on sex offenders in their neighborhood.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Oklahoma sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Oklahoma Sexual Predator Infographic
57 OKL. ST. ANN. § 584 (West 2008)
A. Any registration with the Department of Corrections required by the Sex Offenders Registration Act shall be in a form approved by the Department and shall include the following information about the person registering:
B. Conviction data and fingerprints shall be promptly transmitted at the time of registration to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) if the state has not previously sent the information at the time of conviction.
57 OKL. ST. ANN. § 584 (West 2008)
The Department of Corrections shall maintain a file of all sex offender registrations.
A copy of the information contained in the registration shall promptly be available to state, county and municipal
law enforcement agencies, the State Superintendent of Public Instruction, the Commissioner of Health, and the National Sex Offender Registry maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
The file shall promptly be made available for public inspection or copying under rules promulgated by the Department of Corrections and may be made available through Internet access.
The Department of Corrections shall promptly provide all municipal police departments, all county sheriff departments, and all campus police departments a list of those sex offenders registered and living in their county.
57 OKL. ST. ANN. § 590 (West 2008)
A. Sex offenders may not establish residence within 2000 feet of any public or private school or educational institution. Sex offenders who lived within 2000 feet of a school before their sex offense conviction are not required to sell their homes or move.
57 OKL. ST. ANN. § 583 (West 2008)
D. When a person has been convicted or received probation within the State of Oklahoma, the person shall be required to register as follows:
1. For fifteen (15) years, if the numeric risk level of the person is one;
2. For a period of twenty-five (25) years, if the numeric risk level of the person is two; and
3. For life, if the numeric risk level of the person is three or the person has been classified as a habitual or aggravated sex offender.
The registration period shall… be maintained by such authority for at least ten (10) years from the date of the last registration. OKLA. STAT. tit 57, § 584 (West 2008)
Life for habitual sex offenders and aggravated sex offenders
With DOC within 10 days of release, 30 days of entering the state, 10 days of changing address; with local law enforcement within 7 days of release or entering the state, 3 days of a change of address
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.