The Kansas sex offender law ensures that persons jailed for sex crimes in the state register with the state’s Bureau of Investigation. The law protects the public from sex offenders by providing the details of offenders living in the state.
The law provides the requirements for registration. Defaulting offenders could suffer severe consequences like re-incarceration.
Duration of registration depends on 2 factors:
Offenders register every 4 months for 15 years, 25 years or life depending on the above factors.
Offenders must also report any changes in their registration information. The law also covers sex offenders convicted in another state but wishes to live, school or work in Kansas.
The Kansas Sex offenders Registry works with the state’s Justice Department to register sex offenders in Kansas. The registry manages and updates information on sex offenders living in Kansas. The data gets transferred to a database accessed through the internet.
The Kansas Bureau of Public investigation is in charge of this database. The registry makes sure all information on the database is up to date and accurate.
Anyone with internet access in Kansas can find sex offenders living in their community using the registry’s website.
K.S.A. § 22-4907 (WEST 2008)
(a) Registration, as required by this act, shall consist of a form prepared by the Kansas bureau of investigation, which shall include a statement that the requirements provided in this section have been explained to the person, and shall be signed by the person. Such registration form shall include the following:
(2) Date and place of birth;
(3) Offense or offenses committed, date of conviction or convictions obtained;
(4) City or county of conviction or convictions obtained;
(5) Sex and age of the victim;
(6) Current address;
(7) social security number;
(8) identifying characteristics such as race, skin tone, sex, age, hair and eye color, scars, tattoos and blood type;
(9) Occupation, the name of employer and place of employment;
(10) Drivers license and vehicle information, including the registration number of each license plate assigned to any motor vehicle normally operated by the offender;
(11) Documentation of any treatment received for a mental abnormality or personality disorder of the offender; for purposes of documenting the treatment received, sheriffs, prison officials, and courts may rely on information that is readily available to them from existing records and the offender.
(12) Anticipated future residence
(13) A photograph;
(15) School; and
(16) any e-mail addresses and online identities used by the offender on the internet.
(b)(1) The offender shall also provide to the registering law enforcement agency DNA exemplars, unless already on file.
K.S.A. § 22-4909 (West 2008)
(a) The statements or any other information required by this act shall be open to inspection by the:
(b) Any information posted on an internet website sponsored or created by a sheriff's office or the Kansas bureau of investigation shall identify, in a prominent manner, whether an offender is or is not a sex offender.
(c) The state department of education shall annually notify any school upon which is located a structure used by a unified school district or an accredited nonpublic school for student instruction or attendance or extracurricular activities of pupils enrolled in kindergarten or any grades one through 12 of the Kansas bureau of investigation internet website and any internet website containing information on the Kansas offender registration sponsored or created by the sheriff of the county in which the school is located for locating offenders who reside near such school.
(d) The secretary of health and environment shall annually notify any licensed child care facility of the Kansas bureau of investigation internet website and any internet website containing information on the Kansas offender registration sponsored or created by the sheriff of the county in which the facility is located to locate offenders who reside near such facility.
K.S.A. § 22-4906 (WEST 2008)
(a) 10 years for persons convicted of a registrable offense.
(b) Lifetime registration:
Within 15 days of entering any county; 10 days of changing Address
Class A non-person misdemeanor; providing false information can result in charges at a Level 8-nonperson felony
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.