Nebraska Sex Offenders Law took effect in January 1, 1997. The law protects the residents of Nebraska by alerting them on sex offenders living in their community. Sex offenders convicted in Nebraska must register with the state’s Police Patrol.
Duration of registration depends on the nature of sex crime committed by the offender. Offenders jailed for less than one year will have to register for 15 years. Crimes with longer jail terms have 25 years of registration. Sex offenders with prior conviction before another sentence will register for life. Also, lifetime registrants from another state or country will also have to register for life in Nebraska.
Duration of registration starts counting from the first year an offender registers. For instance, an offender required to register for 25 years but skips the first 2 years will have the duration active from the year he registers.
Sex offenders in Nebraska must notify the local police of any changes to the registered information within 3 business days.
Persons convicted for a sex crime in another state but wishes to work, attend school, or move to Nebraska must notify the state’s police patrol. Failure report to the state’s police within 3 business days has severe consequences.
Nebraska Sex Offender Registry is in charge of maintaining information on sex offenders in the state. The state’s police patrol is in charge of updating the registry.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Nebraska sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Nebraska Sexual Predator Infographic
The sentencing court may exempt offenders convicted of child enticement, false imprisonment of a minor, or kidnapping.
NEB. REV. ST. § 29-4006 (WEST 2008)
NEB. REV. ST. § 29-4013 (WEST 2008)
(c) The procedures for release of information established by the Nebraska State Patrol shall provide for three levels of notification by the law enforcement agency in whose jurisdiction the sex offender is to be released depending on the risk of recidivism by the sex offender as follows:
(i) If the risk of recidivism is low, other law enforcement agencies shall be notified;
(ii) If the risk of recidivism is moderate, in addition to the notice required by subdivision (i) of this subdivision, schools, day care centers, health care facilities providing services to children or vulnerable adults, and religious and youth organizations shall be notified; and
(iii) If the risk of recidivism is high, in addition to the notice required by subdivisions (i) and (ii) of this subdivision, the public shall be notified through means designed to reach members of the public, which are limited to
The Nebraska State Patrol shall provide notice of sex offenders with a high risk of recidivism to at least one legal newspaper published in and of general circulation in the county where the offender is registered or, if NO is published in the county, in a legal newspaper of general circulation in such county.
If any means of notification proposes a fee for usage, then nonprofit organizations holding a certificate of exemption under section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code shall not be charged.
NEB. REV. ST. § 29-4005 (WEST 2008).
10 years for persons not subject to lifetime registration.
Life for persons:
Within 5 working days of establishing residence or temporary domicile in any county, 5 days of changing the address
Annually, within 30 days of the anniversary, sexually violent offenders must verify every 3 months
Class 4 felony
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.