Iowa Sex Offender law states that all sex offenders in the state must register with the local authorities for identification. The State passed this legislation into law on July 1, 1995. The law covers sex offenders jailed on or after July 1, 1995.
Persons found guilty of crimes must register with the state criminal department:
Also, individuals convicted by a federal judgment and living in Iowa must register in the state. Persons convicted in another state but who wish to live, work, or go to school in Iowa must also register in the state.
The Iowa Sex Offender Registry handles and updates information on sex offenders living in Iowa. According to Iowa Sex offender law, the registry provides information on sex offenders in the state to the public. The information is available to the public through the internet.
You can visit their website to find out more about sex offenders in your community. The registry ensures that all information on the website is accurate and up to date.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Iowa sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Iowa Sexual Predator Infographic
Any attempt to commit one of the offenses listed above.
I.C.A. § 692A.5 (West 2008)
I.C.A. § 692A.13 (West 2008)
1. The department may provide relevant information from the sex offender registry to the following:
a. A criminal or juvenile justice agency, an agency of the state, any sex offender registry of another state, or the federal government.
b. The general public through the sex offender registry's web page
c. The single contact repository.
2. A criminal or juvenile justice agency may provide relevant information from the sex offender registry to the following:
a. A criminal or juvenile justice agency, an agency of the state, or any sex offender registry of another state, or the federal government.
b. The general public, including public and private agencies, organizations, public places, child care facilities, religious and youth organizations, neighbors, neighborhood associations, community meetings, and employers. Registry information may be distributed to the public through printed materials, visual or audio press releases, radio communications, or through a criminal or juvenile justice agency's web page.
3. When a person required to register under this chapter moves into a school district or moves within a school district, the county sheriff of the county of the person's new residence shall provide relevant information from the sex offender registry to the administrative office of the school district in which the person required to register resides, and shall also provide relevant information to any private school near the person's residence.
4. Any member of the public may contact a county sheriff's office or police department to request relevant information from the registry regarding a specific person required to register under this chapter.
5. A county sheriff shall also provide to any person upon request access to a list of all registrants in that county.
I.C.A. § 692A.2A (West 2008)
1.5 Construction and application:
Any person who has committed a criminal offense against a minor, or aggravated offense, sexually violent offense, or other relevant offense that involves a minor may not reside within 2000 feet of an elementary or secondary school or child care facility A sex offender who resided within 2000 feet of a school prior to July 1, 2002 is not required to move or sell their residence.
I.C.A. § 692A.4A (West 2008)
Sex offenders are subject to registration for 10 years.
Persons that have committed a criminal offense against a minor, aggravated offense, sexually violent offense, or other relevant offense that involved a minor will be supervised for at least 5 years by an electronic tracking and monitoring system in addition to any other conditions of release.
Within 10 days of release or establishing residence in the state; within 10 days of changing residence
Annually—the department sends a verification form by mail that must be completed and mailed back within 10 days; sexually violent predators will have their addresses verified every three months
First offense is an aggravated misdemeanor; second and subsequent offenses are class D felonies; however, a person who fails to register and commits another offense is guilty of a class C felony. If person is on parole, probation, or work release, failure results in an automatic revocation
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.