Michigan Sex Offenders Law protects the residents of Michigan from convicted sex offenders in the State. The law came about as an effort to protect against the increasing number of unchecked sex offenders in the state.
Michigan sex offender law ensures that all sex offenders in the state registers with the local police. The law makes sure that convicted sex offenders in the state pose no risk to the public. The law places several restrictions on convicted sex offenders in Michigan. Sex offenders in the state cannot live, work or spend time in public places in Michigan. They are not allowed to borrow a car, leave the state or make any changes to their contact information without informing the police.
Since its creation in 1994, the Michigan sex offender’s law has been ammeded 6 times (1999, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2011 and 2013). The 2004 amendment made sure the photos and information of sex offenders in Michigan are available on the internet. The 2006 amendment restricts sex offenders from being 1000 ft close to child care facilities. The 2011 amendment classifies sex offenders in Michigan into 3 tiers:
This classification depends on the nature of the offense and determines the duration of registration.
The state’s police department controls Michigan Sex Offender Registry. The Registry is in charge of documenting information on sex offenders in the state.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Michigan sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Michigan Sexual Predator Infographic
M.C.L.A. § 28.727 (West 2008)
M.C.L.A. § 28.730 (West 2008)
(2): A department post, local law enforcement agency or sheriff's department shall make information for the zip code areas located in whole or in part within the post's, agency's, or sheriff's department's jurisdiction available for public inspection during regular business hours.
The department may make information available to the public through electronic, computerized, or other accessible means.
The department shall provide for notification by electronic or computerized means to any member of the public who has subscribed in a manner required by the department when an individual initially registers under this act, or changes his or her registration under this act, to a location that is in a zip code area designated by the subscribing member of the public.
M.C.L.A. § 28.728 (West 2008)
(2) The department shall maintain a computerized database that consists of a compilation of individuals registered under this act.
M.C.L.A. §§ 28.733 & 27.734(West 2008)
Sex offenders may not work or loiter within a student safety zone.
M.C.L.A. § 28.725 (West 2008)
(7) 25 years from the date of initially registering or 10 years after release from incarceration, whichever is longer, for registrants not subject to lifetime registration.
(8) Life for registrants convicted of:
Registered before sentencing, updated upon release; within 14 days of residing in the state; 10 days of changing the address
Felony up to 4 years imprisonment and/or $2000 fine; probation/parole or youthful trainee status revoked.
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.