The State of Wisconsin established its own Sex Offender law on June 1, 1997. The law is also known as the Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification Law. The aim of establishing the law is to protect residents of the state from re-offending sex offenders.
The law ensures that persons convicted of a sexual crime in Wisconsin must register upon release from jail, parole, or probation. Also, the law mandates the state’s Department of Corrections to provide the details of sex offenders set to be free from prison.
The duration of registration is between 15 years and a lifetime. The length depends on the nature of the sex crime committed by the offender.
Sex offenders who have mental disorders which can lead to re-offend are “Sexual Predators”. These offenders go through a mental health facility upon release from jail.
Authorities monitor Sexual Predators closely, and they have to meet strict registration requirement in the state.
Sex offenders in Wisconsin verify their registration once every year. Also, any changes to the registered information must be reported to the Department of Corrections within 10 working days.
Wisconsin sex offender’s registry is in charge of all information on sex offenders in the state. The registry ensures that all registered information is accurate. This information is made available to the public through the registry’s official website.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Wisconsin sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Wisconsin Sexual Predator Infographic
Offenses for Which Registration are Required Under ALA. CODE § 13A-11-200:
W.S.A. § 301.46 (West 2008)
(b) The department shall make all of the following information available under par.
W.S.A. § 301.46 (West 2008)
(2)(a) When a person is registered with the department, the department shall immediately make the information available to the police chief of any community and the sheriff of any county in which the person is residing, is employed or is attending school.
(e) A police chief or sheriff may provide any of the information to which he or she has access under this subsection to an entity in the police chief’s community or the sheriff’s county that is entitled to request information, to any person requesting information or to members of the general public if, in the opinion of the police chief or sheriff, providing that information is necessary to protect the public.
(5)(a) The department or a police chief or sheriff may provide information concerning a specific person required to register to a person who is not provided notice or access to information, if in the opinion of the department or the police chief or sheriff, providing the information is necessary to protect the public.
(5n)(a) No later than June 1, 2001, the department shall provide access to information concerning persons registered by creating and maintaining an Internet site and by any other means that the department determines is appropriate.
W.S.A. § 301.45 (West 2008)
(5) 15 years for persons not subject to lifetime registration.
Life for persons:
Upon release from supervision; within 14 days of changing address, school enrollment, or employment
No (DOJ asks supervised offenders from other states to register, but this cannot be enforced)
The offender must notify the Department of Justice annually of his/her current information; DOJ notifies Offenders of this requirement
Up to $10,000 fine and up to 9 months imprisonment
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.