Missouri established its own sex offender law in January 1995 after Megan’s Law. The law follows the standards of the Jacob Wetterling Crimes Act.
Sex offenders in Missouri must register within 3 days of release from jail or correction facility. Offenders on probation must register with the state’s Chief Law Enforcement Officer, in person.
Persons convicted of a sex crime in another state but wishes to move to Missouri must register in the state. Such persons must contact the Chief Law Enforcement Officer within 3 days of moving into Missouri.
Sex offender’s registration in Missouri lasts for a lifetime unless pardoned by the court of law. Sex offenders in the state must report any changes to their registered information to the Chief Law Enforcement Officer.
The Chief Law Enforcement Officer notifies the public when a sex offender moves into a neighborhood. The CLEO warns the public about the dangers of living with an offender. This information protects the residents of Missouri from recidivism.
Missouri Sex Offender Registry maintains information on sex offenders in the state. The Missouri State Highway Patrol is in charge of the registry. Sex offenders may pay a registration fee of up to $10 to the chief law enforcement officer for the initial registration.
Any other changes to the registered information may attract a fee of about $5. Residents of Missouri can access the registry through their official website.
V.A.M.S. § 589.407
(1) A statement in writing signed by the person, giving the name, address, Social Security number and phone number of the person, the license plate number and vehicle description, including the year, make, model, and color of each vehicle owned or operated by the offender, any online identifiers, as defined in section 43.651, RSMo, used by the person, the place of employment of such person, enrollment within any institutions of higher education, the crime which requires registration, whether the person was sentenced as a persistent or predatory offender pursuant to section 558.018, RSMo, the date, place, and a brief description of such crime, the date and place of the conviction or plea regarding such crime, the age and gender of the victim at the time of the offense and whether the person completed the Missouri sexual offender program pursuant to section 589.040, if applicable;
(2)The fingerprints, palm prints, and a photograph of the person; and
(3) A DNA sample, if a sample has not already been obtained.
2. The offender shall provide identification and documentation to substantiate the accuracy of the information completed on the offender registration form, including but not limited to the following:
(1) A photocopy of a valid driver's license or non driver's identification card;
(2) A document verifying proof of the offender's residency; and
(3) A photocopy of the vehicle registration for each of the offender's vehicles.
Community Notification and Websites
V.A.M.S. § 589.402
1. The chief law enforcement officer of the county may maintain a web page on the Internet, which shall be open to the public and shall include a registered sexual offender search capability.
V.A.M.S. § 589.403
When a person lists an address where he or she expects to reside that is not in this state, the initial registration shall be forwarded to the Missouri state highway patrol.
V.A.M.S. § 589.415
Any probation officer or parole officer assigned to a sexual offender who is required to register shall notify the appropriate law enforcement officials whenever the officer has reason to believe that the offender will be changing his or her residence.
Limitations on Residency or Employment
V.A.M.S. § 566.147 (WEST 2008)
Any person who, since July 1, 1979, has been or hereafter has pleaded guilty or nolo contender to, or been convicted of, or been found guilty of violating any of the provisions of this chapter or the provisions of subsection 2 of section 568.020, RSMo, incest; section 568.045, RSMo, endangering the welfare of a child in the first degree; subsection 2 of section 568.080, RSMo, use of a child in a sexual performance; section 568.090, RSMo, promoting a sexual performance by a child; section 573.023, RSMo, sexual exploitation of a minor; section 573.025, RSMo, promoting child pornography in the first degree; section 573.035, RSMo, promoting child pornography in the second degree; section 573.037, RSMo, possession of child pornography, or section 573.040, RSMo, furnishing pornographic material to minors; or for an offense in any other state or foreign country, or under federal, tribal, or military jurisdiction which, if committed in this state, would be a violation listed in this section shall not reside within one thousand feet of any public school as defined in section 160.011, RSMo, or any private school giving instruction in a grade or grades not higher than the twelfth grade, or child-care facility as defined in section 210.201, RSMo, which is in existence at the time the individual begins to reside at the location.
2. If such person has already established a residence and a public school, a private school, or child-care facility is subsequently built or placed within one thousand feet of such person's residence, then such person shall, within one week of the opening of such public school, private school, or child-care facility, notify the county sheriff where such public school, private school, or child-care facility is located that he or she is now residing within one thousand feet of such public school, private school, or child-care facility and shall provide verifiable proof to the sheriff that he or she resided there prior to the opening of such public school, private school, or child-care facility.
V.A.M.S. § 566.149 (West 2008)
1. Any person who has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, or been convicted of, or been found guilty of violating any of the provisions of this chapter or the provisions of subsection 2 of section 568.020, RSMo, incest; section 568.045, RSMo, endangering the welfare of a child in the first degree; subsection 2 of section 568.080, RSMo, use of a child in a sexual performance; section 568.090, RSMo, promoting a sexual performance by a child; section 573.023, RSMo, sexual exploitation of a minor; section 573.025, RSMo, promoting child pornography; or section 573.040, RSMo, furnishing pornographic material to minors; or for an offense in any other state or foreign country, or under tribal, federal, or military jurisdiction which, if committed in this state, would be a violation listed in this section shall not be present in or loiter within five hundred feet of any school building, on real property comprising any school, or in any conveyance owned, leased, or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school-related activity when persons under the age of eighteen are present in the building, on the grounds, or in the conveyance, unless the offender is a parent, legal guardian, or custodian of a student present in the building and has met the conditions set forth in subsection 2 of this section.
2. No parent, legal guardian, or custodian who has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, or been convicted of, or been found guilty of violating any of the offenses listed in subsection 1 of this section shall be present in any school building, on real property comprising any school, or in any conveyance owned, leased, or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school-related activity when persons under the age of eighteen are present in the building, on the grounds or in the conveyance unless the parent, legal guardian, or custodian has permission to be present from the superintendent or school board or in the case of a private school from the principal. In the case of a public school, if permission is granted, the superintendent or the school board president must inform the principal of the school where the sex offender will be present. Permission may be granted by the superintendent, school board, or in the case of a private school from the principal for more than one event at a time, such as a series of events, however, the parent, legal guardian, or custodian must obtain permission for any other event he or she wishes to attend for which he or she has not yet had permission granted.
V.A.M.S. § 589.400
(3) Registration is a lifetime requirement unless the offender has been pardoned or the conviction has been reversed, vacated or set aside.
Registered before release; 14 days of coming into the state; 10 days of changing the address
Class A misdemeanor
Most people think sexual predators are scary-looking and creepy. But three out of four adolescents who were sexually assaulted were victimized by someone they knew well.
Most of the time, sexual predators look like regular people. Children and parents need to know and to understand that anyone can be a sexual predator, no matter how "normal" they appear.
It isn't always easy to build a trusting relationship with your child. Trying to get your children to share what is going on in their lives can be difficult.
Building an open and welcoming environment from the beginning stages of a child's life is essential. Children are less intimidated and more likely to discuss issues and topics in their lives with an open and supportive environment.
Getting your kids to share serves as a building block for times when your child needs to discuss pressing issues like sex and sexual abuse.
KidsLiveSafe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe. This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.
We expressly disclaim any and all representations and warranties that any of the providers featured on this site comply with the Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15USC 1681 et seq.,("FCRA") and/or any other similarly situated local, state or federal law governing the requisition, performance and/or disclosure of background checks. In addition, use of any background information (whether in connection with credit eligibility reviews or otherwise) must similarly comply with applicable laws and regulations.Advertising Disclosure
Registered Offenders List is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and resources to its visitors. This Site has a relationship with the featured third party company, which may impact the recommendations made on the site.