South Dakota sex offender law ensures that persons convicted for sex crimes register their personal information in the state.
The law protects citizens of the state from re-offending sex offenders. South Dakota sex offender law took effect in 1994. The State legislation modified the law in July 2010.
According to the new modification, the state uses a tiered system to classify sex offenders living in South Dakota.
The 3 tiers of classification are:
This classification depends on the nature of the crime committed by the offender. The duration of verification also depends on this classification:
Tier I and II offender0, stand a chance of removing their name from the state’s registry. They can do so by complying with all the requirements for their registration. Only a governor’s pardon can stop a Tier III offender from registration.
South Dakota’s sex offenders law meets the provision of the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 2006. Thus, the law has the certification of the federal authorities.
South Dakota’s Sex offenders registry controls all information on sex offenders living in the state. The registry verifies and updates this information in real time. You can visit the registry’s online website to find out more about sex offenders living in the state.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about South Dakota sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View South Dakota Sexual Predator Infographic
If the victim is a minor:
S.D.C.L. § 22-24B-8 (West 2008)
The registration shall include the following information which, unless otherwise indicated, shall be provided by the offender:
S.D.C.L. § 22-24B-15 (West 2008)
Registration records collected by local law enforcement agencies under this chapter, registration lists provided to local law enforcement by the Division of Criminal Investigation, and records collected by institutions for those persons required to register public records. S.D.C.L. § 22-24B-21 The Division of Criminal Investigation shall post and maintain on an internet site sex offender registration information.
S.D.C.L. § 22-24B-23 (West 2008)
No person who is required to register as a sex offender under this chapter may establish a residence or reside within a community safety zone unless:
Sex offenders also may not loiter in a community safety zone unless the offender was under 18 at the time of the offense.
S.D.C.L. § 22-24B-19 (West 2008)
(1) An offender may petition for removal from the sex offender registry after 10 years have elapsed
(3) The crime did not involve a child under the age of 13;
(4) The petitioner is not a repeat sex offender;
(5) The offender has completely complied with registration.
Within 10 days of entering state; 10 days of changing the address
Offenders register annually with a local law enforcement agency
First failure Class 1 misdemeanor; subsequent failures Class 6 felony
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.