Wyoming’s sex offender law ensures that all offenders in the state register at their local sheriff’s office.
The law protects residents of Wyoming by keeping an eye on convicted sex offenders living in their community. Local sheriffs in the state regularly conduct random compliance checks on sex offenders in their community.
An offender in Wyoming must notify the local authorities when there is any change to his/her registered information.
The law also makes provision for community notification. Residents of the state are informed whenever a sex offender living in their community gets out of jail.
Information on sex offenders in Wyoming is released on the internet through the state’s registry.
There is no law restricting where an offender may live or work in Wyoming. However, sex offenders are not allowed to live 1000 feet within a school or childcare facility.
Sex Offenders are not allowed to be in a school during, or within 30 minutes of, a planned school program. They are also not allowed to loiter within 1000 feet of a school.
Wyoming Sex Offender’s registry manages all information on convicted sex offenders living in the state. The registry conducts regular verification to ensure that all registered information is accurate. Residents of Wyoming can access this information through the registry’s official website on the internet.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Wyoming sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Wyoming Sexual Predator Infographic
Criminal Offenses Against Minors - all offenses committed against victim under the age of 18:
W.S. 1977 § 7-19-302
(a) Any offender residing in this state or entering this state for the purpose of residing in this state shall register with the division of criminal investigation or other entity in accordance with the provisions of this act. The offender shall be photographed, fingerprinted and palmprinted by the registering entity or another law enforcement agency and shall provide the following additional information when registering:
W.S. 1977 § 7-19-303
(c) The division shall provide notification of registration under this act, including all registration information, to the district attorney of the county where the registered offender is residing at the time of registration or to which the offender moves. In addition, the following shall apply:
(i) Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 160, § 2.
(ii) If the offender was convicted of an offense specified in W.S. 7-19-302(h) or (j), notification shall be provided by mail, personally, or by any other means reasonably calculated to ensure delivery of the notice to residential neighbors within at least seven hundred fifty (750) feet of the offender's residence, organizations in the community, including schools, religious and youth organizations by the sheriff or his designee. In addition, notification regarding an offender employed by or attending school at any educational institution shall be provided upon request by the educational institution to a member of the institution's campus community as defined by subsection (h) of this section;
(iii) Notification of registration under this act shall be provided to the public through a public registry, as well as to the persons and entities required by paragraph (ii) of this subsection. The division shall make the public registry available to the public, with the exception of internet identifiers, telephone numbers and adjudications as delinquent unless disclosure is authorized pursuant to W.S. 7-19-309, through electronic internet technology and shall include:
(A) The offender's name, including any aliases;
(B) Physical address;
(C) Date and place of birth;
(D) Date and place of conviction;
(E) Crime for which convicted;
(G) Physical characteristics including race, sex, height, weight, eye and hair color;
(H) History of all criminal convictions subjecting an offender to the registration requirements of this act;
(J) The license plate or registration number and a description of any vehicle owned or operated by the offender; and
(K) The physical address of any employer that employs the offender; and
(M) The physical address of each educational institution in this state at which the person is attending school.
(iv) The division shall adopt rules necessary to provide for the maintenance and dissemination of the information contained in the central registry of offenders.
W.S. 1977 § 7-19-304
Within 3 working days of release; 3 working days of entering state; 3 working days of changing address
The division shall conduct address verifications by searching bad Geo-Codes in Offender Watch System. This search will be completed on the last business day of each month for every category. If Bad-Geo code comes back, the sheriff's office will be notified.
A person who knowingly fails to register as required by W.S. 7-19-302 is guilty of a felony punishable by a fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), imprisonment for not more than five (5) years, or both.
A person convicted of a subsequent violation of knowingly failing to register as required by W.S. 7-19-302 is guilty of a felony punishable by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), imprisonment for not more than ten (10) years, or both.
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.