Idaho Sex Offenders Law started on July 1, 1993. The Law protects the citizens of the state from sex offenders. The law stipulates that offenders convicted for sex crimes must register with their local sheriff. The state lawmakers reformed the law in 1998. In July 1, 1998, the law changed to "Sexual Offenders Registration Notification and Community Right-to-Know Act".
The law is Idaho’s version of the “Megan’s Law.” The primary aim of the Law is to notify the locals on sex offenders living in their community. It prevents convicted offenders from re-offending.
The Idaho Sex Offender Registry is in charge of information on sex offenders in the state from the local sheriff department. This information is available to the public on the internet.
The law states that sex offenders must register their information with the local sheriff. Registration must be within 2 working days of conviction or judgment by the court.
Information registered includes current address, email, current photograph and employment history.
Offenders verify the information 4 months after the initial registration. According to the laws of the state, failure to register as a sex offender is a felony.
Sex offenders relocating to Idaho must register within 10 days of the transfer. Sex offenders leaving Idaho should notify the local sheriff within 5 business days with the new out-of-state address.
Sex offenders in Idaho must inform their local sheriff on change of name/address. The request gets verified by the Idaho Sex Offenders Registry. This is to make sure the public get accurate details on sex offenders.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Idaho sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Idaho Sexual Predator Infographic
I.C. § 18-8307 (West 2008)
(1) Registration shall consist of a form provided by the department and approved by the attorney general, which shall be signed by the offender and shall require the following information about the offender:
I.C. § 18-8323 (West 2008)
(2): The department and sheriff will respond to requests for sexual offender registry information within ten (10) working days of receipt of the written request.
(c) Schools, organizations working with youth, women or other vulnerable populations may request a statewide list or lists by geographic area within the state.
I.C. § 18-8327 (West 2008)
(1) Adult and juvenile sex offenders may not apply for or accept employment at a day care center, group day care facility or family day care home. Likewise, adult criminal sex offenders may not remain on the premises of these facilities other than to pick up their minor children.
I.C. § 18-8328 (West 2008)
An offender may petition for relief from this requirement if 10 years have passed since the person’s last conviction.
I.C. § 18-8414 (West 2008)
(1): Except as provided in section 18-8328, it is a felony for any person to: apply for or to accept employment at a day care center, group day care facility or family day care home; or to be upon the premises of a day care center, group day care facility or family day care home while children are present, other than to drop off or pick up the person's child or children if the person is currently registered or is required to register under the juvenile sex offender registration act
(2): The owner or operator of any day care center, group day care facility or family day care home who knowingly employs a person or who knowingly accepts volunteer services from a person, which person is currently registered or is required to register under the juvenile sex offender registration act, to work in the day care center, group day care facility or family day care home is guilty of a misdemeanor unless judicial relief has been granted pursuant to section 18-8328.
I.C. § 18-8302 (West 2008)
Adult sex offenders must register for life.
I.C. § 18-810 (West 2008)
(1) An adult sex offender who is not a repeat sex offender, aggravated sex offender or sexually violent predator may petition for exemption from registration after 10 years.
Within 5 days of entering any county; 5 days of changing Address
Felony incarceration up to 5 years, fine up to $5,000
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.