The state of Nevada recently amended its sex offender law to align with the Adam Walsh Child Protection Act of 2006. The law protects the residents of Nevada from convicted sex offenders in the state. Sex offenders in Nevada must upon their release from jail register with the state’s department of justice.
Offenders on pardon or parole must also register after their sentence by the department of justice.
The recent amendment classifies sex offenders in Nevada into 3 tiers:
Classification of sex offenders in Nevada depends on 2 factors:
Offenders convicted before, whose victim is under the age of 13, must register under Tier 3 offenders. A sex offender with no previous conviction, whose victim is under 14 years, registers under Tier 2 offenders. All other offenders are under the Tier 1 class.
The frequency of verification depends on the new classification. According to the new amendment;
Also, the duration of registration depends on the class of offenders:
Nevada’s department of justice is In charge of the state’s sex offender’s registry. The registry maintains information on sex offenders living in the state. This information is available to the public through the registry’s website on the internet.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Nevada sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Nevada Sexual Predator Infographic
An offense of a sexual nature committed in another jurisdiction, whether or not the offense would be an offense listed in this section, if the person who committed the offense resides or has resided or is or has been a student or worker in any jurisdiction in which the person is or has been required by the laws of that jurisdiction to register as a sex offender because of the offense. This subsection includes but is not limited to, an offense prosecuted in:
N.R.S. § 179D.460 (West 2008)
1. If a defendant is convicted of an offense listed in subsection 4, the court, at sentencing, shall order that:(a) The name, social security number, date of birth and any other information identifying the defendant be submitted to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History; and(b) A biological specimen be obtained from the defendant pursuant to the provisions of this section and that the specimen be used for an analysis to determine the genetic markers of the specimen.
N.R.S. § 179D.730 (West 2008)
1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, the guidelines and procedures for community notification established by the attorney general must provide for the following levels of notification, depending upon the risk of recidivism of the sex offender:
2. If the sex offender is assigned a Tier 2 or Tier 3 level of notification and the sex offender has committed a sexual offense against a person less than 18 years of age, the law enforcement agency in whose jurisdiction the sex offender resides or is a student or worker shall provide the appropriate notification for Tier 2 or Tier 3 and, in addition, shall notify:
3. If the sex offender has been declared to be a sexually violent predator, the sex offender must be assigned a Tier 3 level of notification.
N.R.S. § 179D.270 (West 2008)
Sex offenders must register for as long as he/she resides, works or attends school in Nevada.
Offenders may petition to terminate registration if 15 consecutive years have elapsed without a subsequent conviction and the offender has been in compliance with his/her registration requirements.
Offenders may not petition for termination of the registration requirements if they:
Within 48 hours of arrival in a county; 10 days of changing Address
Gross misdemeanor up to 1 year in county jail
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.