Arizona Sex Offenders Law is the state’s version of “Megan Law” adopted in June 1996. The law protects the Arizona Citizens from re-offending sex offenders. The law notifies the public whenever a convicted sex offender get’s out of Jail or is on probation.
Everyone in Arizona has access to this information. The law ensures information on Sex offenders is on the internet.
The law also makes provision for sex offenders registered in another state but visiting Arizona. Every sex offender that will be in Arizona for more than 10 days (for any reason) must register in Arizona. Transients register as “Travelers with no Home” in the state.
Arizona sex law controls how many offenders on probation can live around a multi-family dwelling to avoid clustering. The bill also states that Level 3 sex offenders may not live within 1000 feet of a day care center, school, or children park.
The Arizona Sex Offenders Registry manages the internet page of Arizona Sex Offender Information. The registry provides information on the location of sex offenders in Arizona to the public. The Registry has the task of creating public awareness on the potential threat of sex offenders to Arizona citizens. Its primary aim is to keep the public safe by informing them about sex offenders in the community.
The Registry may not notify you personally about the presence of a sex offender in your neighborhood. Instead, it provides you with full information available on the internet. This information will help you take the right steps towards protecting your children against sex offenders. Also, the information will help prevent convicted sex offenders from re-offending.
According to the Arizona Sex Offenders law, the Registry updates the website.
The registry also verifies the name, photograph, and address of sex offenders in Arizona. Thus, they provide accurate information to the public.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Arizona sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Arizona Sexual Predator Infographic
Offenses for Which Registration are Required Under ALA. CODE § 13A-11-200:
ARIZ. REV. STAT. 13 § 3821 (West 2008)
(B). the information from subsection A is then forwarded to the sheriff in the county where the person is registered.
(C). after receiving the information pursuant to subsection B of this section, the sheriff shall forward the Information to the chief law enforcement officer of the community in which the person resides.
ALA. CODE § 15-20-33 (West 2008)
(M) 10 years for persons convicted for a single offense of unlawful imprisonment or kidnapping of a minor. Life for persons with prior convictions for any registrable offense.
Within 10 days of conviction; 10 days of entering state; 10 days of changing address
Class 6 (lowest) felony or Class 1 (highest) misdemeanor
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.