New Mexico’s sex offender’s law took effect on July 1, 1995. The law states that convicted sex offenders must register with the state’s department of public safety. This registration must take place immediately the offender gets out of jail. Offenders sentenced to parole or pardon must also register after their sentence.
Duration for registration ranges from 10- 20 years to a lifetime. The period depends on the offender’s sex crimes and the possibility of reoffending.
Sex offenders must notify the state authorities of any changes to their registered information. The notification must occur within 5 working days of making those changes.
Persons convicted of sexual crimes in another state but wishes to work, attend school, or move to New Mexico must register in the state. Such persons must register within 10 business days of moving to New Mexico.
New Mexico Sex Offender’s Registry manages and updates the information on sex offenders in the state. The registry notifies the public through its website on the internet on dangerous sex offenders living in their community. You can search the website using your area’s zip code on and find out about sex offenders near you.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about New Mexico sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View New Mexico Sexual Predator Infographic
N.M.S.A. 1978, § 29-11A-4 (West 2008).
B. When a sex offender registers with the county sheriff, he shall provide the following registration information:
N.M.S.A. 1978, § 29-11A-5.1 (West 2008).
A. If a sex offender is convicted of one of the sex offenses, the county sheriff shall forward registration information obtained from the sex offender to the district attorney for the judicial district in which the sex offender resides and, if the sex offender is a resident of a municipality, the chief law enforcement officer for the municipality in which the sex offender resides:
B. A person who wants to obtain registration information regarding sex offenders described in Subsection A of this section may request that information from the:
N.M.S.A. 1978, § 29-11A-5
(E) 10 years for persons not subject to lifetime registration.
(D) Life for persons convicted of:
Life for persons convicted a second or subsequent time for a sex offense. 30 days after release, 45 days after coming into the state, 10 days after changing residences
Misdemeanor imprisonment for less than 1 year and/or fine up to $1,000; same penalty for providing false information
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.