The Oregon Sex Offender law directs all convicted sex offenders living in the state to register with the state’s police. The law makes provision for the evaluation of sex offenders in Oregon upon their conviction. This evaluation determines the risk level assigned to each registered offender.
Sex offenders in Oregon have different risk levels depending on their ability to re-offend. They are generally classified into 3 risk levels:
Level 1 offenders pose the lowest risk to the residents of Oregon. Level 2 offenders pose a moderate risk to the residents of the state. All high-risk offenders are under the Level 3 risk classifications. Profiles on high-risk offenders are available to the public on the internet.
The duration of registration also depends on the risk-level classifications of the offenders.
The state of Oregon, unlike most other states in the country, does not place restrictions on where a sex offender lives, attends school, or visits.
Oregon’s Sex Offender registry manages all information on sex offenders living in the state. The registry is in charge of updating this information in real time. You can search for sex offenders near you by visiting the registry’s official website.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Oregon sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Oregon Sexual Predator Infographic
2009 Oregon House Bill No. 3423, Oregon Seventy-fifth Legislative Assembly March 12, 2009
SECTION 7. ORS 181.592 is amended to read:
(d) (5) the information required to be made available under paragraph (c) of this subsection posted on the Internet website is:
O.R.S. § 181.592 (West 2008)
(c) The department shall use the Internet to make the information available to the public if the information is about a person:
O.R.S. § 144.642 (West 2008)
(1)(a) Sex offenders may not reside near locations where children are the primary occupants or users.
(1)(c) Unless authorized, sex offenders may not live with other sex offenders.
O.R.S. § 181.600 (West 2008)
(1)(a) A registrant may petition for termination of the registration obligation after 10 years.
Within 1 year of release from supervision; 30 days of changing the address
Yes if convicted or required to register in another state
No, currently developing a system of verification
Class C felony if felony offense; otherwise a Class A misdemeanor
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.