Maine Sex Offender Law states that a person found guilty in the state for a sex offense must register with the state Bureau of the investigation. The Law took effect on January 1, 1982, and protects the residents of Maine from re-offending sex offenders.
Sex offenders in the state must register within 5 days after getting out of jail or receiving court notification. Duration of registration ranges from 10 years to a lifetime for the 1982 legislation. The 1982 legislation got modified on January 1, 2013, with new changes to the previous legislation. The new law classifies sex offenders into 3 tiers:
The legislation stipulates that Tier I offenders must register for 10, Tier II for 25 years and Tier III for a lifetime.
The law requires that sex offenders registering for 10 years verify their registration information once a year. Offenders registered for a lifetime must verify their information once every 3 months. The January 1, 2013 legislation requires Tier I offenders to verify their information yearly. Tier II offenders verifies every 6 months, and Tier III offenders every 3 months.
Sex offenders in Maine must report any changes in their registration information to the sex offender registry within 3 days.
The Maine Sex Offender Registry manages the information on sex offenders in the state. The Maine State police are in charge of the registry and ensure all information gets to the registry’s database. The information on the registry is available to the residents of Maine through the Internet.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Maine sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Maine Sexual Predator Infographic
A conviction for one of the following offences or an attempt or solicitation of one of the following offences if the victim was less than 18 years of age at the time of the criminal conduct:
34-A M.R.S.A. § 11221 (Wet 2008)
1. Maintenance of registry. The bureau shall establish and maintain a registry of persons required to register under this subchapter. The registry must include the following information on each registrant:
34-A M.R.S.A. § 11221
9. PUBLIC ACCESS TO INFORMATION. A. The bureau shall post on the Internet for public inspection information concerning a registrant.
12. LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY WEBSITE. A law enforcement agency may maintain its sex offender website and may make that information available for use by the public.
34-A M.R.S.A. § 11255
34-A M.R.S.A. §§ 11225-A
10 years for sex offenders not subject to lifetime registration.
34-A M.R.S.A. § 11203
Life for persons convicted of sexually violent offenses or for registrants with prior sex offense convictions.
If sentenced on or after January 1, 1982, Within 5 days from date of release from incarceration or notification. A person who commits criminal conduct and is sentenced on or after January 1, 2013, Within 3 days from date of release from incarceration or notification.
If sentenced on or after January 1, 1982 – 10 years (once a year) annually and Life Time – every 3 months. Any changes must be reported within 5 days to SOR and 24 hours to law enforcement. A person who commits criminal conduct and is sentenced on or after January 1, 2013 – Tier I (10 years) (once a year) annually, Tier II (25 years) every 6 months, and Tier III (Lifetime) every 3 months. Any changes must be reported within 3 days to SOR and 24 hours to law enforcement.
Failure to comply; first offense is a class D crime.
Failure to comply; second offense. A person who has one prior conviction commits a Class C crime.
Failure to comply; third offense: A person who has 2 or more prior convictions under this section commits a Class B crime.
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.