The New Hampshire Sex offender Law is in line with the country’s federal requirements for sex offenders.
Convicted Sex offenders in New Hampshire must register with the state’s Department of Justice. The law makes provisions for a compliance unit that ensures sex offenders in New Hampshire adhere to all legal requirements.
The law classifies convicted sex into 3 tiers depending on the nature of sex crimes. The law protects the residents of the state from the menace of convicted sex offenders in New Hampshire.
Duration of registration depends on the tier of classification. Offenders in New Hampshire register between 10 years and a lifetime. Offenders convicted for severe sex crimes must register for a lifetime.
The law also makes provision for sex offenders in New Hampshire to visit the state’s Department of Justice for inspections. Convicted sex offenders in New Hampshire must submit to random checks and investigations.
New Hampshire Sex Offender Registry is in charge of maintaining the information on sex offenders in New Hampshire. The state’s department of justice updates the information on the registry. This makes sure residents of New Hampshire have access to correct information on sex offenders through the internet.
N.H. REV. STAT. § 651-B:4
N.H. REV. STAT. § 651-B:7
N.H. REV. STAT. § 651-B:6
I. 10 years for offenders not subject to lifetime registration.
Life for persons convicted of:
Life for persons with 2 or more convictions for a registrable offense
Within 30 days of release (including while under supervision); 30 days of establishing residence; 10 days of changing the address
Registration report made annually within 30 days of the anniversary of release, or of the establishment of residence in the state if convicted elsewhere
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.