Massachusetts Sex Offenders Law requires all sex offenders in the state to register with the State’s sex offender’s registry. The law classifies sex offenders in Massachusetts into 3 levels:
The classification depends on the degree of danger an offender poses to residents of Massachusetts. Level 1 sex offenders pose a low degree of threat to the public. They have a low risk of re-offending thus their information is only available to the requisite authorities.
Level 2 sex offenders have a moderate chance of re-offending. These set of sex offenders pose a moderate degree of threat to citizens of the state. Information on level 2 offenders is available to the public through the state’s registry.
Level 3 sex offenders are the most dangerous sex offenders in the state. They pose a high degree of danger to the residents of Massachusetts. You can get Information on this class of offenders through any local law enforcement agency or the online registry.
Duration of registration depends on the level of classification.
The Massachusetts Sex Offenders Registry is in charge of information on sex offenders in the state. The Registry makes sure the information maintained in their database is correct and up to date.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Massachusetts sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Massachusetts Sexual Predator Infographic
M.G.L.A. 6 § 178D
M.G.L.A. 6 § 178F 1/2
Any person who is 18 years of age or older and who states that he is requesting sex offender registry information for his protection or for the protection of a child under the age of 18 or another person for whom the requesting person has responsibility, care or custody shall receive at no cost from the board a report which indicates whether an individual identified by name, date of birth or sufficient personal identifying characteristics is a sex offender with an obligation to register, the offenses for which he was convicted or adjudicated and the dates of such convictions or adjudications.
M.G.L.A. 6 § 178G
20 years for registrants not subject to lifetime registration.
Life for registrants:
Incarcerated sex offenders must now register two days before being released from incarceration.
Sex offenders are required to annually verify that their registration information is accurate and up-to-date.
Offender shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than six months and not more than two and one-half years in a house of correction nor more than five years in a state prison or by a fine of not more than $1,000 or by both such fine and imprisonment. A second and subsequent conviction shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for not less than five years.
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.