The state Legislature made the Connecticut Sex Offender Law in 1998. The law mandates the state department of safety to register every convicted sex offender in the state. This information is available at local police stations within Connecticut and over the internet.
Connecticut Sex Offender Law mandates all sex offenders in the state to register their name and home address.
The law grants an exemption to offenders convicted as Juveniles. Offenders tried and jailed as adults must register unless a court of law prevents it.
The state legislature modified the law in 2009. The changes include notifying the community whenever a sex offender is out of jail.
The details of such sex offender should go to schools in the neighborhood where the offender lives or plan to reside.
The law makes sure the public are aware of sex offenders among them. It also prevents violent predators from re-offending.
The Connecticut sex offender Registry provides information on Sex Offenders in the state. The information is available to the general public on the internet. The Registry is an online tool designed to help create awareness on the dangers of sex offenders.
Connecticut Sex Offender law ensures that the information on the registry is up-to-date and accurate.
You can search the registry by city, neighborhoods, and streets. A list of sex offenders and their recent photographs are available for every community in Connecticut.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Connecticut sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Connecticut Sexual Predator Infographic
Criminal Offense against a Victim Who is a Minor:
Sexually Violent Offenses:
C.G.S.A. § 54-251(a), 54-252(a), 54-253(b), & 54-254(a)
C.G.S.A. § 54-258
(a)(2): Any state agency, the Judicial Department, any state police troop or any local police department may, at its discretion, notify any government agency, private organization or individual of registration information when such agency, said department, such troop or such local police department, as the case may be, believes such notification is necessary to protect the public or any individual in any jurisdiction from any person who is subject to registration
Limitations on Residency or Employment
Duration of Registration
C.G.S.A. § 54-252(a)
Life for persons convicted of sexually violent offenses.
C.G.S.A. § 54-251(a)
10 years for persons convicted of a criminal offense against a minor or a nonviolent sexual offense, unless the offender has a prior conviction for any such offense, in which case registration is for life.
C.G.S.A. § 54-254(a)
10 years for persons convicted of a felony which the court finds was committed for a sexual purpose.
ALA. CODE § 15-20-33 (West 2008)
At the time of release from custody or at sentencing if placed on probation; 30 days of entering the state, 10 days of changing the address
Misdemeanor mandatory, min. 90 days imprisonment w/balance of at least one-year probation, up to 1-year imprisonment; second and subsequent failures Class G felony; parole/probation revocation
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.