Rhode Island sex offenders law ensures that persons convicted for a sex offense in Rhode Island register with the state police. The state based its law on Megan’s Law to protect its residents from re-offending sex offenders.
Under the Rhode Island sex offenders law, convicted offenders fall into 3 risk levels:
This classification depends on the nature of sex crime committed by an offender. The requirements for registration depend on these classifications.
The Rhode Island Sex Offender Registry manages the information on convicted sex offenders living in the state. The registry updates this information in real time to make sure it is accurate. The local law enforcement officials in the state verify this information.
According to the Rhode Island sex offender law, only the profiles of Level II and Level III offenders are available to the public. The registry also notifies the community whenever a high-risk sex offender moves into the neighborhood.
This information protects the public from the menace of sex offenders living amongst them.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Rhode Island sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Rhode Island Sexual Predator Infographic
Criminal Offense against a Victim Who is a Minor:
Sexually Violent Offenses:
Individuals convicted of a registrable offense in another state register must register as sex offenders.
RI. ST. § 11-37.1-5 (West 2008)
(b) Notification of registration requirements. The person designated with the responsibility for the notification requirements of this chapter shall, before the release of any person required to register under this chapter:
(c) Registration information. In addition to the requirements of subsection (b) of this section, for a person required to register under § 11-37.1-3, then the person responsible for the notification required under subsection (b) of this section shall obtain the name of the person, identifying factors, anticipated future residence, juvenile and adult offense history, and documentation of any treatment received for the mental abnormality or personality disorder of the person.
RI. ST. § 11-37.1-12 (West 2008)
(b) The regulations shall provide for three (3) levels of notification depending upon the risk of the re-offense level of the sex offender:
RI. ST. § 11-37.1-4 (West 2008)
Within 30 days of entering state; 10 days of a change of address; 30 days before release
Yes, only those convicted of first-degree sexual assault.
Misdemeanor—90 days imprisonment, 1 year probation
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.