The state of North Carolina has a strict law against sex offenders. The state protects its residents by ensuring that persons convicted of a sexual offense have little or no chance at re-offending.
Sex offenders in the state upon their release from jail must register with the state’s department of justice.
Duration of registration depends on the possibility of an offender to re-offend. Sex offenders register for either 30 years or a lifetime. An offender can reduce the duration of registration by filing a petition in court. Offenders must register for 10 years to file a petition.
Sex offenders with many convictions for a sex offense will have to register for a lifetime. The law classifies such offenders as sexually violent predators.
Sexually violent predators register for a lifetime and must verify their information every 90 days.
Sex offenders in North Carolina are not allowed to live within 1000 feet of a childcare facility (schools or daycare). Sex offenders can visit the schools of their kids upon invitation. They must inform the principal before honoring such invitation.
Sex offenders in North Carolina are also not allowed to take up jobs that involve minors like driving a school bus. They are not allowed to use commercial social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter.
North Carolina’s sex offender registry keeps the information on sex offenders living in the state. The state’s sex offender’s law protects its residents from sex offenders by providing information on sex offenders on their website.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about North Carolina sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View North Carolina Sexual Predator Infographic
The following offenses if the offense is committed against a minor and the offender is not a parent of the victim:
The law applies to any persons who have a "reportable conviction," including:
(c), if the sentencing court issues an order requiring the individual to register.
N.C.G.S.A. § 14-208.7 (West 2008)
(b) The Division shall provide each sheriff with forms for registering persons as required by this Article. The registration form shall require:
(1) The person's full name, each alias, date of birth, sex, race, height, weight, eye color, hair color, driver’s license number, and home address;
(2) The type of offense for which the person was convicted, the date of conviction, and the sentence imposed;
(3) A current photograph;
(4) The person's fingerprints;
(5) A statement indicating whether the person is a student or expects to enroll as a student within a year of registering. If the person is a student or expects to enroll as a student within a year of registration, then the registration form shall also require the name and address of the educational institution at which the person is a student or expects to enroll as a student; and
(6) A statement indicating whether the person is employed or expects to be employed at an institution of higher education within a year of registering. If the person is employed or expects to be employed at an institution of higher education within a year of registration, then the registration form shall also require the name and address of the educational institution at which the person is or expects to be employed.
N.C.G.S.A. § 14-208.10 (West 2008)
N.C.G.S.A. §14-208.7 (West 2008)
(a) 10 years for persons not subject to lifetime registration.
N.C. GEN. STAT. §14-208.23 (West 2008)
Life for recidivists, persons convicted of an aggravated offense and those who are classified as a sexually violent predator.
Within 10 days of release, arrival in a county, change of residency; immediately upon conviction if not incarcerated
Yes, for substantially equivalent offenses
Class 3 misdemeanor for a first conviction of a violation; Class I felony for subsequent convictions
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.