Persons convicted of a sexual offense in Virginia must register with the local law enforcement agency in their county. The state’s sex offender law requires sex offenders to register upon their release from jail.
The duration of registration depends on the nature of the offense. A sex offender must register within 3 days of release from jail, probation or parole.
Also, an offender must notify the law enforcement agency whenever there is any other change to the registered information.
All notification must occur within 30 minutes using an email or any electronic means. The offender must also report in person within 3 days after the first notification.
Sex offenders in Virginia must verify their registered information every 2 years. They verify their details and have their photograph taken by the authorities.
Offenders listed by the law as “Sexual” must verify their registered details once every year. Failure to do this will mean that they will have to start registering once every 180 days.
Offenders listed by the law as “Sexually violent” must verify their registration every 90 days. Failure to do this will mean they will have to register every 30 days.
Virginia’s sex offender law set up the conditions for the release of every offender in the state. Some Sex offenders in Virginia are not permitted to live within 500 feet of a child facility like schools, parks or daycare. The others will not loiter 100 feet near childcare facilities like a playground, school, or anywhere around kids.
The Virginia Sex offender’s registry manages information on sex offenders registered in the state. The register updates this information through the local authorities in the state. The registry ensures all information on sex offenders in the state is accurate and up to date.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Virginia sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Virginia Sexual Predator Infographic
Third or subsequent convictions for:
A violation or attempted violation of:
VA. CODE ANN. § 9.1-903 (West 2008)
VA. CODE ANN. § 9.1-912 (West 2008)
VA. CODE ANN. § 9.1-913 (West 2008)
VA. CODE ANN. § 9.1-914 (West 2008)
VA. CODE ANN. § 9.1-908 (West 2008)
10 years for persons not subject to lifetime registration.
Life for persons convicted of any sexually violent offense.
Within 30 days of suspension of sentence, 30 days of release, 30 days after establishing residence, 30 days of changing the address
Class 1 misdemeanor confinement in jail for up to 12 months and a fine up to $2,500, either or both
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.