Delaware Sex offender Law states that sex offenders in the state must register in the state’s criminal justice department. The Law protects the citizens of Delaware by creating awareness on the dangers of sex offenders. The Law aims to reduce recidivism or chances of offenders to re-offend.
The Delaware Sex Offender Law mandates the state’s criminal justice department to track sex offenders living in Delaware. Upon conviction, vital information of a sex offender goes to the department. The Law classifiers Sex offenders in Delaware into 3 tiers:
The classification depends on the level of a sex offense committed. The Law ensures that every sex offender in the state gets evaluated upon release from jail. The evaluation determines if the offender is fit to dwell among the public.
The Law protects the citizens of the State from the menace of sex offenders. It ensures the public has access to information on sex offenders living amongst them.
The Delaware Sex Offenders Registry is in charge of verifying and updating information on sex offenders living in the state.
Delaware Sex Offenders Registry stores information on sex offenders in the state in a digital form. The information lives in an electronic database and is available to the public through the internet.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Delaware sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Delaware Sexual Predator Infographic
11 DEL.C § 4120
11 DEL.C § 4121
"Community notification" means notice which is provided by any method devised specifically to notify members of the public who are likely to encounter a sex offender.
Methods of notification may include, but not be limited to:
"Community notification" also includes notice provided through an alert system added to the Delaware State Police Sex Offender Registry Internet Web Site that allows governmental agencies, public officials, and members of the general public to register to receive updates by geographical region whenever a sex offender is added to, deleted from, or has any change in status on the registry.
If a school, school district or licensed child care provider receives community notification, the community notification must be placed in a binder and kept in the administrative office available to view upon request by adults and juveniles with adult supervision.
The school, school district or licensed child care provider shall notify parents and staff frequently through their regular communications of the availability and location of the community notification binder.
(2) The physical posting of community notifications in public school buildings and licensed child care facilities is prohibited.
11 DEL.C § 4121
(f)(1)(a): Life for offenders designated to Risk Assessment Tier III or if the offender has been designated to Risk Assessment Tier II or I and has previously been convicted of a registrable offense.
At the time of release from custody or at sentencing if placed on probation; 30 days of entering the state, 10 days of changing the address
Misdemeanor mandatory, min. 90 days imprisonment w/balance of at least one-year probation, up to 1-year imprisonment; second and subsequent failures Class G felony; parole/probation revocation
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.