Maryland Sex Offenders Law divides convicted sex offenders in the state into 3 Tiers:
Tier I offenders register for 15 years and must verify their registration every 6 months. Tier II offenders register for 25 years and must confirm their registration every six months. Tier III offenders register for life and verify their registration every 3 months.
All verification must take place in person to the designated supervising authority.
Sex offenders living in Maryland must update their registration within 3 days of changing any information.
The law also requires non-residents in Maryland wishing to attend school, work, or visit the state to register. Registration is within 3 days of entering Maryland for what so ever reason.
The Maryland Sex Offenders Registry is under the state’s Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services. The registry ensures that all information on sex offenders in Maryland is up to date and accurate.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about Maryland sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View Maryland Sexual Predator Infographic
The following offenses require registration as a Sexually Violent Offender:
MD. CRIM. PROC. § 11-706 (WEST 2008)
(a) A registration statement shall include:
(b) If the registrant is a sexually violent predator, the registration statement shall also include:
MD. CRIM. PROC. § § 11-717 (WEST 2008)
(a) Department to make available registration statements; excluded information. --
(1) The Department shall make available to the public registration statements or information about registration statements.
(2) Information about registration statements shall include, in plain language that can be understood without special knowledge of the criminal laws of the State, a description of the crime of the offender that is the basis for the registration, excluding details that would identify the victim.
(b) Posting on the Internet. -- The Department may post on the Internet a current listing of each registrant's name, crime, and other identifying information.
MD. CRIM. PROC. § § 11-709 (West 2008)
(f) A local law enforcement unit may notify the following entities that are located within the community in which a child sexual offender is to reside or where a child sexual offender who is not a resident of the State will work or attend school of the filing of a registration statement or notice of change of address by the child sexual offender:
MD. CRIM. PROC. § 11-707 (WEST 2008)
(4) The term of registration is:
(i) 10 years; or
(ii) Life, if:
Within 7 days of release or establishing residence in the state
Misdemeanour subject to imprisonment for up to 3 years, fine of up to $5,000, or both
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.