New Jersey is the first state in the country to set up requirements for sex offenders . This came after the death of Megan Kanka in Mercer County, In 1994. She was raped and killed by Jesse. K. Timmendequas, a 2-time convicted sex offender. Megan’s death outlined the importance of keeping sex offenders in the state in check.
Jesse Timmendequas was remanded to Death Row, where he ramained until December 2007. At that time, the New Jersey Legislature abolished the state's death penalty. Timmendequas's sentence was commuted to life in prison without the possibility of parole.
On October 31, 1994, Megan’s Law on sex offenders took effect in New Jersey. Other the states then went on to adopt the law to protect their residents from convicted sex offenders.
Megan’s Law provides certain requirements for convicted sex offenders in the state. Convicted sex offenders in New Jersey must register with the state’s police. They must undergo specific evaluations to make sure they are fit to be back into the society.
New Jersey’s sex offenders uses the tiered system to classify convicted sex offenders in the state. This classification depends on the likelihood of reoffending and the nature of the sex crime.
The three classes are:
According to Megan’s law, Information on Tier 1 offenders are only kept by the state justice department. The details of Tier 2 and 3 offenders are available on the sex offender’s registry online.
Only the state’s department of justice can grant an offender an exception. The exception bars the registry from displaying the offender’s information on the registry.
Megan’s law protects the residents of the state from reoffending sex offenders. The bill ensures that the public gets notified when a dangerous sex offender is out of jail.
New Jersey’s Division of state police is in charge of the state’s registry. The registry makes sure the public gets information on sex offenders in New Jersey. The information helps them take the necessary measures against sex offenders in their community.
Learn and share vital facts and figures about New Jersey sex offenders with this convenient infographic.View New Jersey Sexual Predator Infographic
N.J.S.A. § 2C:7-4 (West 2008)
b. The form of registration required by this act shall include:
N.J.S.A. 2C:7-6 (West 2008)
N.J.S.A. 2C:7-13 (West 2008)
N.J.S.A. 2C:7-2 (WEST 2008)
(f) Sex offenders may petition for termination of the obligation to register upon proof that they have not committed an offense within 15 years following release from incarceration.
Offenders convicted or adjudicated delinquent for more than one sex offense or an aggravated sexual assault are not eligible for termination of the obligation to register and, therefore, must register for life.
Registered prior to release or within 4 days of judgment if not confined; upon being placed on supervision; 70 days of entering state; 10 days prior to changing address
Address verification with law enforcement every 90 days
Crime of the fourth degree
Kids Live Safe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe.
This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.